Margherita Loy

Tutto ciò che resta

afterword by Dario Voltolini
pages: 88
format: 12 x 18 cm
publication date: February 2023
binding: softbound
language: Italian

isbn 9788877572950


It can be said that Margherita Loy's mother tongue is directly literary Italian. In these three new short stories, the main elements are the writing's ability to be simple yet open up sudden complexities, the play of references between past and present, the tension between the narrated scene and the one seen that liquefies in the experience of the word, the rarefaction that is evoked with clear and precise terms, the reverberations of infinite readings that have always been inhabited, Bassan reflexes, the thought that plays with words. And above all, the presence of the emblematic object that catalyses lost stories towards itself and makes their narration available.
We have three jewels in this collection. Each encloses a world, preserves relationships and affections, unrepeatable lives. But their essence as jewels reverberates on worlds, relationships, affections and lives with the value of their stones, gold, pearls.
Margherita Loy is a narrator who has a personal respect for the stories she tells. This is a character trait that permeates her prose and embellishes it, although the writer carefully keeps her razor sharp and her burin sharp in the face of pain and suffering.


Margherita Loy was born in Rome in 1959 and has lived in the Lucca countryside for many years. She has conducted programmes on books for the broadcaster Videomusic, cultural programmes on Rai Radio Tre, translated books for Astrolabio-Ubaldini Editore and published short stories in the magazine 'Paragone Letteratura' and in the anthology Parole apparecchiate (2011) published by Trasciatti Editore. He has created art books for children for Gallucci Editore: La cameretta di van Gogh (2015, 2023); Magritte. This is not a book (2021); Pop al pomodoro (2021). For Zona Franca Edizioni he published the collection of short stories V.O.L.A., Vino, olio, latte e acqua (2013), for Atlantide Edizioni the novels Una storia ungherese (2018), La dinastia dei dolori (2020) and Dio a me ha dato la collina (2022), while for the publisher Barta the novel Delia o mattino di giugno (2023) was published. He currently maintains a literature and art blog on Il Fatto Quotidiano.