Miklós Mészöly

La morte dell’atleta

La stanza del mondo

translation by Mariarosaria Sciglitano
afterword by Dávid Szolláth
pages: 168
format: 16 x 22,5 cm
publication date: June 2023
package: paperback
language: Italian

isbn 9788877573148



An athlete dies in circumstances that cannot be explained, and reconstructing his life will be his girlfriend Hildi, commissioned by a publishing house to write a mémoire. Hildi thus begins to investigate, trying to shed light on the affair, on her beloved Bálint's colleagues and on the suffocating post-war atmosphere that surrounds them. Against the backdrop of a closed, controlled stadium, much like the Hungarian socialist regime of the time, a group of friends are united by a single, coveted goal: that of achieving supremacy, in sport and in their own lives, through challenge and self-knowledge. They soon discover that this aspiration will be anything but easy, almost as elusive as truth and death itself.
Finished in 1961, La morte dell’atleta only came out in Hungary in 1966 after having been published in French by Editions du Seuil (1965) and shortly before it was published in German by Hanser Verlag in Munich (1966), which prompted the Hungarian censorship to allow it to be published in Hungary. Since then it has been translated into almost ten languages.


Miklós Mészöly (Szekszárd, 1921 - Budapest, 2001), born Miklós Molnár, is one of the most significant Hungarian writers of the second half of the 20th century.
He graduated in law in 1944 and was sent to the front the same year, falling prisoner in Serbia. Mészöly worked as a playwright at the Puppet Theatre and in 1958 he began a long collaboration with the prestigious literary magazine Jelenkor. Translated into many languages, he is considered the master of some of the greatest exponents of contemporary Hungarian literature. Among his works - for reasons of political censorship, not many have been published - besides La morte dell’atleta (1957) from which the film The Hawks (1970) by Hungarian director István Gaál was based, winner of the Jury Prize at the 23rd Cannes Film Festival, we recall: Saulo (1966); Pontos történetek, útközben (1970); Film (1976); Megbocsátás (1984), Otthon és világ (1994).